Getting Things Done (“Efficiently”)

Posted on

This week in my educational technology class we studied the “Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-free Productivity”, by David Allen (2001). Allen talks a great deal about the “chaos” that occurs in our mind. He lays out a plan to help you best avoid the sense feeling overwhelmed and “crazy busy”.

Allen suggests (at TED) that it is NOT an issue of MORE TIME. The issue is we need more space to think creatively. He suggests that if we can become “appropriately engaged” in the correct tasks, we will become more productive and less stressed. (VIDEO)

He argues that we get bogged down in our everyday life from the massive, and ambiguous, “to-do” lists in our minds. So many of these points seemed clear to me and felt on point with experiences I have as a teacher.

PERSONAL NOTE: I am constantly struggling with looking at my task in huge terms and feeling overwhelmed by losing my perspective. Every Sunday afternoon-night I get sick to my stomach because I know I have a huge workload I need to complete before I am ready to enter the classroom on Monday. I tend to view the Sunday as a time to think about the entire week (or entire Unit at times). Every Sunday I feel overwhelmed. Every Sunday my brain starts thinking about 100 different things and I become stressed out about how I will complete them all. I write lists, but my lists are always out of order (in priority of importance). Another problem is I jump around on my lists. I become “counter-productive” (I complete tasks that are not essential for completion while putting off the tasks that NEED direct attention). So how can I use a technology tool to help me?

SOLUTION: (SPRINGPAD.COM)

A helpful solution I have discovered this week is springpad.com. This tool allows me to dump information that needs to be accomplished and to revisit it, re-map it, tag it, and prioritize it in a quick and easy format. It also allows me to set deadlines. This tool is extremely helpful. It can give me warnings and let me know what I have been “putting off” for too long.

I was skeptical about using an online “to-do list” because I felt like it would be a waste of time. I already make “to-do” lists on paper, why would I take the extra time to write this same stuff online. So far, I have been pleasantly surprised and I have only just begun to use the features of this online resource.

This week it has been a helpful tool and I plan on continuing to use it. I have only used the “desktop” version so far, but plan on trying the tablet app soon.

Tips: use this site in the morning. Make a “tasks list” and check things off or add things as they come to mind. You may add long term goals and separate them by different lists to re-visit them at a later date (when you have more time to THINK CREATIVELY!).

All in all, I am happy with this resource and plan on continuing to explore the different tools that are available using Springpad.com.

It’s so simple. Here is what your page might look like:

Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 6.17.59 PM

One response »

  1. I hear you, and feel you! Sundays for me feel the same way in terms of the overwhelming amount of tasks I know that I’ll have to complete for the upcoming week! I don’t quite have the physical symptoms, but it certainly affects my mood. The same thing happens at the end of the week when I take stock of all the things I didn’t complete, but feel I should have.

    I love the “pro tip” you share about when best to get into the tool. I’m wondering if maybe it’s not the tool as much as just prepping your day for success by starting with the list, and reviewing what needs to happen. Almost two weeks out from the start of you using this tool now, is it still useful, are you still finding yourself starting each day with it?

    Reply

Leave a comment